TENNESSEE

Tennessee imposes substantial penalties

for sex trafficking and provides tools for law
enforcement to investigate effectively, but victims
may be deterred from pursuing justice due to
lack of trial protections and potential bars to
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victims' compensation. Tennessee prohibits the
criminalization of minors for prostitution, but
the lack of specialized protective responses may
leave them vulnerable.
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Criminalization of Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking

Tennessee's sex trafficking law, “trafficking for a commercial sex act”, does not require proof of force, fraud, or coercion and enhances
penalties when the minor is under 15 or the offense occurs near a school, library, or park. Commercial sexual exploitation of children
(CSEC) laws include: “patronizing prostitution,” “promoting prostitution,” “offense of especially aggravated sexual exploitation of a mi-
nor,” “offense of solicitation of a minor,” and “offense of soliciting sexual exploitation of a minor.” The prostitution statute refers to the
sex trafficking statute, and the patronizing prostitution and promoting prostitution laws refer to the sex trafficking law for penalties when
the victim is a minor. Racketeering activity is defined under the racketeering law to include especially aggravated sexual exploitation of
a minor, a CSEC offense, and criminal gang offenses, which include sex trafficking as a predicate offense.

Criminal Provisions
for Demand

The state sex trafficking law expressly applies to buyers who “pur-
chase” a commercial sex act with a minor. “Trafficking for com-
mercial sex act” is punishable by 8-30 years imprisonment and
a $25,000 fine (or 15-60 years imprisonment and a $50,000
when the victim is under 15). The CSEC crime of “patronizing
prostitution” refers to the human trafficking statute for prosecu-
tion and significant penalties and fines. “Offense of soliciting
sexual exploitation of a minor” is punishable by 8-30 years im-
prisonment and a $25,000 fine. State law differentiates between
soliciting an adult versus a minor for commercial sex. State law
also prohibits the use of the Internet to commit trafficking and
CSEC offenses. “Patronizing prostitution” and “offense of solic-
iting sexual exploitation of a minor” prohibit a mistake of age
defense. Depending on the offense, financial penaities include
fines, asset forfeiture, and restitution. Purchasing and possess-
ing images of child sexual exploitation (ICSE) are distinct crimes
that carry penalties comparable to those for similar federal of-
fenses; enhanced penalties apply when the crime involves over a
specified number of images. Buyers convicted of “trafficking for
commercial sex act,” purchasing or possessing ICSE, and certain
CSEC offenses are required to register as sex offenders.

Criminal Provisions
for Traffickers

“Trafficking for a commercial sex act” and “promoting prostitu-
tion” are felonies punishable by 8-30 years imprisonment and
a $25,000 fine (or 15-60 years imprisonment and a $50,000
fine when the victim is under 15). “Offense of soliciting sexual
exploitation of a minor” is punishable by 8-30 years impris-
onment and a $25,000 fine. Distributing ICSE or employing,
using, or permitting a minor to participate in the production
of ICSE are distinct crimes that carry penalties comparable to
those for similar federal offenses. “Offense of solicitation of a
minor” criminalizes using the Internet or other electronic com-
munication to “command, request, hire, persuade, invite or
attempt to induce” a minor to engage in sexual activity. Crimi-
nal asset forfeiture and victim restitution are mandatory in sex
trafficking and “promoting prostitution” cases. Traffickers con-
victed of trafficking in persons, distributing or creating ICSE,
and certain CSEC offenses are required to register as sex of-
fenders. Child sex trafficking and severe child abuse, which
includes some CSEC offenses, are enumerated as grounds
upon which parental rights may be terminated.



Criminal Provisions for Facilitators

“Trafficking for a commercial sex act” applies to facilitators who
benefit from or attempt to benefit from sex trafficking; a violation
Is punishable by 8-30 years Imprisonment and a $25,000 fine
(or 15-60 years imprisonment and a $50,000 fine when the mi-
nor is under 15 or the offense occurs near a school, library, or
park). Advertising the sale of minors for commercial sex acts is
punishabie by 3-15 years imprisonment. Facilitators who own
or control a business for the purpose of prostitution, encourage
another to engage in prostitution, or procure a patron may be
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found guilty of “promoting prostitution.” Money laundering laws
may also apply. Criminal asset forfeiture and victim restitution
are mandalory in sex lafficking and “promoting prostitution”
cases. Selling and promoting ICSE are distinct offenses that
carry penalties comparable to those for similar federal offenses.
Tennessee law criminalizes the sale of travel services for prosti-
tution, but that law is not specific to minors nor does it provide
an enhanced penalty when the victim is a minor.

Protective Provisions for the Child Victims

All commerclally sexually explolted chlldren are defined as Juve-
nile sex trafficking victims. Tennessee’s trafficking law prohibits
a defense to prosecution based on the willingness of the minor
to engage in the commercial sex act. Further, Tennessee prohib-
its the criminalization of minors for prostitution; however, victims
are not provided with a specialized protective response, poten-
tially leaving them to return home without mandated treatment
or services. The definitions of “severe child abuse” and “child
sexual abuse” include child sex trafficking and commercial sexu-
al exploitation, and the definition of “caregiver” includes any per-
son who uses a child for commercial sexual exploitation or child
sex trafficking, including as a trafficker. Victims of sex trafficking
are eligible for crime victims’ compensation; additionally, pain
and suffering expenses are available to victims of ICSE offenses.
However, a victim may be barred from recovering if determined
to have been criminally responsible for the crime, did not cooper-
ate with police, or did not file the claim within one year (extended
for ICSE victims). Additionally, the crime must be reported within
48 hours unless good cause is shown {(examples do not include

commercial sexual exploilalion viclimizalion). The appointment
of a guardian ad litem could encourage child sex trafficking
victims to pursue legal actions; however, the “rape shield” law,
which can reduce the trauma of cross-examination for testifying
victims, does not apply in sex trafficking or CSEC prosecutions,
and closed circuit television testimony, although specifically per-
mitted in cases of sex trafficking and “patronizing prostitution,”
is limited to victims under 13. Tennessee law does not provide a
mechanism for minors to vacate delinquency adjudications relat-
ed to trafficking victimization; however, state law allows a court
to expunge juvenile records for prostitution offenses immediately
after adjudication, but juvenile records related to other offenses
may only be expunged after a waiting period except at the court’s
discretion. Restitution is mandatory, and civil remedies are spe-
cifically authorized for victims of sex trafficking. The criminal stat-
ute of limitations is extended for some crimes. After the victim
turns 18, prosecutions must be brought within 15 years for sex
trafficking, 10 years for “patronizing prostitution,” and 25 years
for “promoting prostitution.”

Criminal Justice Tools for Investigation and Prosecution

Tennessee law requires training for law enforcement on human
trafficking as well as child sexual abuse, which covers sexual
exploitation of a child, including exploitation through child sex
trafficking, prostitution, or ICSE. Additionally, some funds real-
ized through the human trafficking asset forfeiture provisions are
allocated to training on human trafficking. Single party consent
to audiotaping is permitted by law, and wiretapping is permitted
in investigations of sex trafficking. Law enforcement decoys and

Internet or electronic investigation tools may be used for crimes
of sex trafficking and sexual exploitation of minors; thus, a de-
fendant would be prohibited from asserting a defense based on
the fact that an actual minor was not involved in the communica-
tion. Law enforcement are mandated to report missing children,
maintain data on missing children, and report located missing
children.

The Report Card is based on the Protected Innocence Challenge Legislative Framework, an analysis of state laws performed by Shared
Hope International, and sets a national standard of protection against domestic minor sex trafficking. To access the Protected Innocence
Challenge Legislative Framework Methodology, all state Report Cards, and foundational analysis and recommendations, please visit:
www.sharedhope.org/reportcards.



